Be Happy!…Be Encouraged!

THE WORLD KNOWS ENOUGH HELL! Let’s show a little more Heaven

  • Quote for the Day

    If you’ve made a habit of communing with God when the sun is shining, you’ll find it much easier to sing in the rain.—Bill Pannell

  • Cluster Map

  • Blog Stats

    • 333,500 hits

You, Me and Dupree

Posted by happypizza on August 9, 2007


you-me-and-dupree.jpg

What an interesting film. Just watched it on my home theater. Was expecting it to be a lot more humorous especially with one of my favorite comedians in it–Owen Wilson. That lovable looser with the broken nose, 100 dollar smile, crazy-loser, cocky-funny, womanizer, and all round nice guy.

What I really liked about the film most, was Dupree’s (Owen Wilson) speech to the children on “career day”, especially when he didn’t have a job. It conveyed a very nice message which I found strangely relatable. Some of you readers might understand.

Sometimes I get the feeling that in a way, I too still seem to be waiting for that “mothership”! When I’ll know my purpose or thing that I’ll really do well and what will be of greatest use to others and the world.

On the other hand maybe God just wants me to keep plugging away with what He has given or gifted me with even if it doesn’t seem like much, putting the pieces of my life together–like a jigsaw puzzle without the picture. Slowly but surely, piece by piece in the end I’ll see the masterpiece he had intended for my life all along.

Here is Dupree’s (Owen Wilson) “career day speech” which I transcribed  from the movie: You, Me and Dupree:

Hey, how are you? First of all, thank you for giving me the opportunity to come talk to you all on career day. Now, I’m not Mr. Carl Peterson and I don’t have a career per se. I guess you could say my career is living and loving and I do that to the utmost.

I see all you fresh faced “kidlets” sitting there in your neat little rows and you’re all just pods. Pods waiting for your instructions. Now some of you are gonna get zapped right away and be 15 year old prodigies, little midget Olympic gymnasts with their pictures on cereal boxes. Some of you will go on to college and you will find your rhythm there and then go chase down the titans of industry or maybe straighten out our problems at the UN.

But some of you…and this is the group that no one ever comes into career day and addresses, and it’s criminal (not too)…some of you, are just going to float along.–Eating spicy foods, humming black people’s music into your thirties—well into your thirties….languishing. This group of pods is going to do a lot of languishing and you’re going to take some heat for it…sadly, you will. Europe is a little easier, it seemed to understand a little better, so did South America. I went to Argentina one time and everyone just seemed to be sitting around and it was beautiful.

But that’s ok! Stay loose, stay liquid, laugh a lot–but be ready! That’s what Dupree is doing in his life’s little pod–staying nimble, until I get the call from the mothership. Then I bite. Then you’ll see Dupree coming in here throwing seven different kinds of smoke. Boom, bam!

(long pause, awkward)

…That’s fine, pods that were supposed to hear this, did, and it will kick in when it needs too. I’m done here.

What is your life’s purpose? (Link)

6 Responses to “You, Me and Dupree”

  1. http://pressposts.com/Love/You-Me–Dupree/

    Submited post on PressPosts.com – “You, Me & Dupree”

  2. Neo said

    Yep, I agree with everything in that last post. You & me are pretty similar bro. Rock on.

  3. kaysi said

    Came across your blog trying to find a transcript of Dupree’s “Career Day” speech (planning to use that clip tomorrow night when I lead our youth girls in a discussion about being single… I thought the speech applied even though it referred to careers rather than relationships!) — I’ve only looked around a bit but I really like the general idea behind your blog (“The world knows enough hell, let’s show a little more heaven!”) as well as your thoughts here on “You, Me & Dupree,” and I look forward to browsing around some more!! =)

  4. Tykbcsdr said

    Thanks!,

  5. It is many years after the event, but I was looking today for the transcript for Dupree’s speach and so here I am! This is my favourite filme, I cannot tell you how many times I watch it. I am one of those pods, I’ve never had a life’s purpose and I only wish I’d been a bit younger than 32 when I first heard this talk and that it was OK to just stay loose!

    Thanks for posting!

  6. Mike said

    Now Owen Wilson became a flight attendant…

Leave a Reply

 
